ReadingMonkey Sharing books with love since 2011
Ali Mercer

His Secret Family

Year: 2019
Genre: Literary
Views: 2
Downloads: 1



Summary

It’s a beautiful day for a wedding. White roses scent the air and the summer sunlight streams in. A spoon chimes against a champagne flute and the room falls silent. And there he is – my husband – getting to his feet to propose a toast. He’s still handsome. His new wife is next to him, gazing upwards, oblivious.  I’m not supposed to be here. All these years in the same town and I had no idea until I saw his name on the seating plan. He lived with me, once. Loved me. Small-town memories are long, but the people in this room don’t want to remember. They say the healing is in letting go, but after what he did, he needs to know we haven’t gone away just because he’s shut his eyes. So I take Daisy by the hand and step forward from the shadows. He notices us and his eyes widen. The champagne glass falls from his hand and smashes. Then he sags forward, making a terrible sound – a sort of strangled scream… A powerfully emotional novel with a dark secret at its heart. This family drama will keep you hooked until the very last page. Perfect for fans of The Silent Wife , Kate Hewitt and Jodi Picoult.  What readers are saying about Ali Mercer: ‘Wow.  What an emotional roller coaster  of a book this is… it was such  a powerfully emotional story  of loss, grief, regret and self-forgiveness… and I found myself completely wrapped up and invested in the characters and their lives… an  incredibly raw and emotional story … Well worth a read.’  Cosy Books Blog ‘This was a really  heartfelt and heartbreaking story …  I was pulled into this book very quickly , it was very emotional but extremely well thought out and well written. I would totally read more by Ali Mercer.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ‘ When the publishers say this is heart-wrenching, they aren’t kidding … oh my heart…  heartbreaking and heart-warming at the same time .  Wonderful writing by Ali Mercer.’  The Bookwormery ‘ This book totally hooked me  and engrossed me. It’s so well written, the characters are so relatable and real, and the plot weaves its magic around the reader…  A complex, poignant and captivating book , highly recommended.’  Sibzzreads , 5 stars ‘ A beautifully written domestic drama ,  sure to tug on your heartstrings and make you appreciate your relationships more . Will definitely read more book by this author.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars ‘Set aside time to read this book because  once you get involved in the story you aren't going to want to put it down. If you like a book to really make you think, this is a great read . I look forward to reading more from this author.’  Shelley’s Book Nook ‘This is a bit of  a tearjerker …  A beautifully poignant story about the bonds that tie women together …  My heartstrings were tugged on … A book about women, for women.’ Goodreads reviewer ‘An  engrossing and heart-rending journey  through motherhood, loss, and heartbreak… This is an  emotive read that will surely tug on the heartstrings  of anyone on either side of the mother/child relationship.’ Goodreads reviewer ‘ I loved this book …  I couldn’t stop reading … The upheaval and sadness in this book are amazing…  This book really hit home for me !’ Goodreads reviewer  
2019-09-11 44 3

0 Responses to "His Secret Family"

Leave a Reply

You must complete the download to post a comment.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*